> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://tispan.org/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Best High EPA Omega 3 for Diabetics: Nordic Naturals Wins
- URL: https://tispan.org/best-high-epa-omega-3-diabetics/
- Published: 2026-09-07T07:24:31.000Z
- Updated: 2026-09-07T09:49:26.000Z
- Description: Five omega-3 fish oil supplements ranked by published EPA and DHA content, with a note on what diabetics should ask a clinician before starting any of them.
- Author: Chris Williamson
- Tags: Omega Oils, Health, Supplements

The best high EPA omega 3 for diabetics in this set is Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega, a 90-softgel bottle delivering 1280 mg of total omega-3 per serving in triglyceride form. If you want a higher raw EPA figure on the label, MAV Nutrition Triple Strength publishes 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA per serving and takes the runner-up slot. Neither is marketed to diabetics specifically, and the modifier deserves its own paragraph below.

In this guide
1. [Best high EPA omega 3 for diabetics at a glance](#best-high-epa-omega-3-for-diabetics-at-a-glance)
2. [A note on the diabetic angle](#a-note-on-the-diabetic-angle)
3. [1\. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega — Best overall](#1-nordic-naturals-ultimate-omega-%E2%80%94-best-overall)
4. [2\. MAV Nutrition Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil 3600 mg — Runner-up](#2-mav-nutrition-triple-strength-omega-3-fish-oil-3600-mg-%E2%80%94-runner-up)
5. [3\. Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100 — Best premium](#3-oceanblue-professional-omega-3-2100-%E2%80%94-best-premium)
6. [4\. MOM Nutrix Omega 3 Fish Oil — Best for beginners](#4-mom-nutrix-omega-3-fish-oil-%E2%80%94-best-for-beginners)
7. [5\. NOW Foods Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA — Best budget pick](#5-now-foods-omega-3-180-epa-120-dha-%E2%80%94-best-budget-pick)
8. [How I narrowed a crowded shelf to five](#how-i-narrowed-a-crowded-shelf-to-five)
9. [What actually decides an EPA-heavy fish oil?](#what-actually-decides-an-epa-heavy-fish-oil)
10. [How the five compare on EPA per serving](#how-the-five-compare-on-epa-per-serving)
11. [How many softgels does a bottle actually last?](#how-many-softgels-does-a-bottle-actually-last)
12. [What the listings do not tell you](#what-the-listings-do-not-tell-you)
13. [The verdict](#the-verdict)
14. [FAQ](#faq)

## Best high EPA omega 3 for diabetics at a glance

| Pick                                                                                                      | EPA + DHA claim                       | Softgels per bottle | Price                                                             |
| --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------------------------------- | ------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Best overall**[Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20)      | 1280 mg omega-3 total                 | 90                  | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Runner-up**[MAV Nutrition Triple Strength](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20)          | 1300 mg EPA + 860 mg DHA              | 120                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best premium**[Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08SCHPNQM?tag=tispan-20) | 1350 mg EPA + 600 mg DHA + 150 mg DPA | 180                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08SCHPNQM?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best for beginners**[MOM Nutrix Omega 3](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F1KY4MVL?tag=tispan-20)            | EPA + DHA, dose not stated            | 150                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F1KY4MVL?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best budget pick**[NOW Foods Omega-3 1000 mg](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001GCU6KA?tag=tispan-20)       | 180 mg EPA + 120 mg DHA per softgel   | 200                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001GCU6KA?tag=tispan-20) |

## A note on the diabetic angle

None of the five products in this roundup is formulated, marketed, or clinically validated for diabetics. Amazon returned them for the phrase "high EPA omega 3 for diabetics", but the listings themselves make no diabetes-specific claim. That matters. Omega-3 fish oil interacts with blood glucose, blood pressure, and blood-thinning medications, and the sensible reading of this shelf is that a diabetic buyer is choosing a general-purpose fish oil and then checking the fit with their care team.

So this guide ranks the five on what the listings do publish: EPA and DHA per serving, molecular form, softgel count, and how the picks compare within the set. If your clinician has given you a target EPA dose, use the middle column of the table to match it. If they have not, that conversation is the step before you buy any of these, not after.

## 1\. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega — Best overall

**A well-documented triglyceride-form fish oil at a mid price, with the strongest sales traction of the five here.**

[![Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega softgel bottle — the shortlisted 1280 mg omega-3 pick in triglyceride form](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41g58vrlGWL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** a diabetic buyer who wants the most-checked-out bottle on this shelf and a lemon flavour to cover the fish taste. **Skip it if:** you want the highest EPA figure printed on the label.

Nordic Naturals publishes 1280 mg of total omega-3 per serving across 45 servings in a 90-softgel bottle. The listing states the oil is in triglyceride form, which the brand describes as the form naturally found in fish, and claims better absorption on that basis. Read that as a manufacturer claim, not a measured comparison against the other four here.

What sets it apart in this set is traction: it is the one buyers choose most often here by a wide margin, with a sales rank of 59 against the next pick's 486\. The trade-off is straightforward. Its 1280 mg total omega-3 sits below MAV's 1300 mg of EPA alone and Oceanblue's 1350 mg of EPA, so if you are hunting a specific EPA number, the label reads smaller. The bottle is also the smallest here, 90 softgels versus 120, 150, 180 and 200 for the other four.

**Pros:**

- 1280 mg omega-3 per serving in triglyceride form
- Lemon flavour to mask the fish note
- Strongest sales traction of the five here
- Mid price band, not the most expensive
- 45 servings per bottle for easy dose maths

**Cons:**

- Smallest bottle here at 90 softgels
- Total omega-3 figure is lower than MAV's EPA figure alone
- Listing does not break out EPA and DHA separately in the headline

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20)

## 2\. MAV Nutrition Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil 3600 mg — Runner-up

**The highest published EPA figure of the five, with a matched DHA load and a citrus softgel.**

[![MAV Nutrition Triple Strength Omega 3 bottle — the 1300 mg EPA runner-up pick](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51gECZGEDzL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** someone whose clinician has named a specific EPA target in the four-figure range. **Skip it if:** you would rather buy the pick with the strongest sales record.

MAV Nutrition prints the numbers the keyword implies. Each serving delivers 1300 mg of EPA and 860 mg of DHA, drawn from 3600 mg of total fish oil, and the bottle holds 120 softgels. That is the highest EPA figure on this shelf, edged only fractionally by Oceanblue's 1350 mg. The listing describes the oil as concentrated by molecular distillation and sourced from Friend of the Sea certified fisheries.

The runner-up slot rather than the top spot comes down to how far behind the leader it sits on traction. A sales rank of 486 is respectable, but Nordic Naturals is running at 59, and this is one of the few signals the data gives us to compare buyer behaviour across the set. MAV also sits in the premium price band despite entry-band picks being available with real EPA content of their own. The trade-off is: you pay more, you get the biggest single-serving EPA number on this shelf, and you accept a shorter track record than the winner.

**Pros:**

- 1300 mg EPA per serving, the second-highest here
- 860 mg DHA alongside the EPA
- 120 softgels per bottle
- Burpless citrus-flavoured softgel per the listing
- Friend of the Sea sourcing claim

**Cons:**

- Premium price band, one of the two most expensive here
- Sales rank well behind the top pick
- Weight listing of 2 oz is low for 120 softgels, worth verifying

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20)

## 3\. Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100 — Best premium

**The only pick in the set that includes DPA alongside EPA and DHA, in the largest bottle here.**

[![Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100 bottle — the 1350 mg EPA premium pick with DPA](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41KHfT1zHML._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08SCHPNQM?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** a buyer who wants the largest bottle here and a third omega-3 fatty acid on the label. **Skip it if:** you do not care about DPA and want faster turnover on the shelf.

Oceanblue publishes 1350 mg of EPA, 600 mg of DHA, and 150 mg of DPA per serving across 90 servings in a 180-softgel bottle. That third figure is what separates this pick within the set: none of the other four names DPA on the listing at all. Whether DPA matters to you is a question for your clinician, but if it does, this is the only shortlisted option that puts a number on it.

The bottle is also the biggest here, at 180 softgels against 90, 120, 150 and 200 across the other four. Sales rank is the weakest of the five at 5656, meaning it sells slowest of the group, and it shares the premium price band with MAV. Read the trade-off as: you are paying more for a bigger bottle, a slightly higher EPA figure, and DPA, in exchange for a slower-moving listing. The orange-flavoured softgel is described as burpless in the listing.

**Pros:**

- 1350 mg EPA per serving, the highest here
- Only pick to publish a DPA figure, at 150 mg
- 180 softgels, the second-largest bottle in the set
- 90 servings per bottle for a long refill cycle
- Gluten-free and non-GMO per the listing

**Cons:**

- Slowest-moving listing of the five
- Premium price band
- DHA of 600 mg is lower than MAV's 860 mg

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08SCHPNQM?tag=tispan-20)

## 4\. MOM Nutrix Omega 3 Fish Oil — Best for beginners

**An entry-band bottle with 150 softgels and a triglyceride-form claim, though the EPA and DHA split is not published.**

[![MOM Nutrix Omega 3 Fish Oil bottle — the 150-softgel beginner pick made in the USA](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41At4Zxy98L._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F1KY4MVL?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** a first-time fish oil buyer who wants a reasonable count at an entry price. **Skip it if:** you need the EPA milligrams on the label to hit a specific target.

MOM Nutrix sits in the entry price band with a 150-softgel bottle. The listing describes wild-caught deep-ocean sourcing, non-GMO ingredients, and a triglyceride molecular form for absorption. Manufacturing is in a GMP-certified US facility per the listing text.

Here is the honest limit of what I can tell you from the data. The listing does not publish an EPA figure or a DHA figure per serving. For a general-purpose fish oil, that is common. For a "high EPA" search, it is a real gap, because you cannot compare this bottle to the others on the metric that matters in the keyword. If you are just starting on fish oil and want a low-risk introduction with a friendly count and a triglyceride claim, that gap may not bother you. If you are dose-shopping, it should. Its sales rank of 6709 is the lowest of the five, which is worth noting alongside the missing dose figures.

**Pros:**

- 150 softgels in the entry price band
- Triglyceride-form claim in the listing
- Wild-caught sourcing per the listing
- Made in a US GMP-certified facility per the listing
- No fishy aftertaste claim

**Cons:**

- No published EPA or DHA milligram figures
- Lowest sales rank of the five
- Fewer specifications listed than the top three

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F1KY4MVL?tag=tispan-20)

## 5\. NOW Foods Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA — Best budget pick

**The lowest price position in the set and the largest bottle count, with the smallest EPA per softgel to match.**

[![NOW Foods Omega-3 amber softgel bottle — the 200-count budget pick with 180 mg EPA per softgel](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41MZxVW5JWL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001GCU6KA?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** a buyer who wants flexibility to titrate the dose across many small softgels. **Skip it if:** you want a "high EPA" bottle in the strict sense the keyword implies.

NOW Foods publishes 180 mg of EPA and 120 mg of DHA per 1000 mg softgel across 200 softgels in a 0.75 lb bottle. The suggested use in the listing is two softgels twice daily for cardiovascular support, which works out to 720 mg of EPA and 480 mg of DHA per day at that dose. That is the transparent budget play: smaller numbers per softgel, more softgels in the bottle, cheapest position in the set.

Two things to keep in perspective. The per-softgel EPA is the smallest here by a wide margin, so this only becomes a genuinely "high EPA" option once you take several softgels a day, and swallowing four softgels for one dose is a real ergonomic consideration. It also lists a 2010 release date, meaning it has the longest track record on the shelf. Sales rank of 1432 puts it in the middle of the five, faster-moving than Oceanblue, MAV and MOM Nutrix but behind Nordic Naturals.

**Pros:**

- Lowest price position of the five
- Largest count at 200 softgels
- Molecularly distilled per the listing
- EPA and DHA figures published clearly per softgel
- Non-GMO and Halal per the listing

**Cons:**

- Smallest EPA per softgel of any pick here
- Requires four softgels a day for the suggested cardiovascular dose
- Not a single-softgel high-dose option

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001GCU6KA?tag=tispan-20)

## How I narrowed a crowded shelf to five

The omega-3 category on Amazon is large, and the best high EPA omega 3 for diabetics search returns products from across the price map, from broad-spectrum daily fish oils to concentrated EPA-forward formulas. I set three criteria against the product data and let the field fall out from there.

1. The listing has to publish either a total omega-3 figure or an EPA plus DHA breakdown per serving. Four of the five clear this. MOM Nutrix does not, and it drops from best overall contender to the beginner slot because of it.
2. The molecular form has to be stated or implied, since triglyceride versus ethyl ester is a common absorption discussion in the category. Three of the five state triglyceride form on the listing.
3. Sourcing and purity claims have to be specific, not vague. Friend of the Sea, GMP certification, and molecular distillation all count as specific; "premium quality" does not.

None of those criteria involve diabetes, and that is the honest part of this section: the shelf does not sort itself along diabetic lines, because the products are not marketed that way.

## What actually decides an EPA-heavy fish oil?

Most omega-3 guides lean hard on brand and flavour. Neither decides the purchase. The real deciding criterion is EPA milligrams per serving, weighed against how many softgels that serving takes. A 1300 mg EPA claim in one softgel is a very different product from 180 mg of EPA per softgel taken four times a day, even if the daily EPA totals end up in the same neighbourhood.

Here is the trick with reading this shelf. Total fish oil figures on the front label ("3600 mg") are not EPA figures. Total omega-3 figures ("1280 mg") are not EPA figures either. EPA is a specific number that some listings publish and others do not, and it is worth ignoring anything else on the label until you have found it. Two picks here name EPA in four figures: MAV Nutrition and Oceanblue. One publishes a total omega-3 figure without splitting it: Nordic Naturals. One publishes a small per-softgel EPA figure and expects you to multiply: NOW Foods. One does not publish an EPA figure at all: MOM Nutrix.

The second decision is dose format. Do you want one big softgel or several small ones? Larger softgels are harder to swallow. Smaller softgels mean more of them per day and a bottle that runs down faster than the count suggests.

## How the five compare on EPA per serving

Ranked by the EPA figure the listing actually publishes, not by total fish oil weight:

- Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100: 1350 mg EPA per serving
- MAV Nutrition Triple Strength: 1300 mg EPA per serving
- NOW Foods Omega-3: 180 mg EPA per softgel, 720 mg at the suggested four-a-day dose
- Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega: 1280 mg total omega-3 per serving, EPA and DHA split not headlined
- MOM Nutrix Omega 3: EPA figure not published

Two things stand out. The two premium-band picks are the two highest published EPA figures, which is what you would expect. And Nordic Naturals, the best overall, is not the highest EPA number on the shelf. It wins on the balance of dose transparency, triglyceride form, and traction, not on raw EPA. If EPA milligrams are your single deciding number, MAV or Oceanblue is the more honest choice.

## How many softgels does a bottle actually last?

At the manufacturer's suggested daily use:

- Nordic Naturals: 45 servings per bottle at two softgels a day, roughly a month and a half.
- MAV Nutrition: 60 servings at two softgels a day.
- Oceanblue Professional: 90 servings at two softgels a day, the longest refill cycle in the set.
- MOM Nutrix: not stated on the listing per serving, but 150 softgels gives you two and a half months at two a day.
- NOW Foods: at the four-softgels-a-day cardiovascular dose in the listing, a 200-count bottle lasts 50 days.

The count on the front of the bottle is not the days of use. Divide by the suggested daily dose before you buy, and remember that a diabetic buyer whose clinician recommends a higher EPA target will burn through a bottle faster than the label implies. That is the calculation that flips NOW Foods from "biggest bottle here" to "roughly average duration".

## What the listings do not tell you

Fish oil listings are studiously silent on three things a diabetic buyer will want to know.

- Interaction with common diabetes medications. The listings do not touch this. Ask a clinician.
- Effect on triglycerides at the doses stated, in people with type 2 diabetes specifically. The listings claim cardiovascular support in general terms and stop short of clinical claims. Do not read more into the copy than it says.
- Oxidation state and freshness of the oil at delivery. All five make purity claims. None publishes a peroxide value or an oxidation figure on the listing. This is normal for the category and it is the reason people care about triglyceride form, freshness, and reputable sourcing more than the marketing copy.

The gap between what the label promises and what your clinician needs to know is real, and no amount of comparison across five listings closes it. Treat this shelf as the shortlist you take into that conversation.

## The verdict

Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega is the pick if you want the most-shopped bottle on this shelf, a triglyceride-form claim, and a mid price rather than a premium one. It publishes 1280 mg of total omega-3 per serving across 45 servings, and its sales rank of 59 is an order of magnitude ahead of the next pick.

Two conditions flip the ranking. If your clinician has given you an EPA target in the 1300 mg range and you want that number printed on the label, MAV Nutrition Triple Strength is the honest match, with 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA. If you want the largest bottle in the set, the highest EPA figure of all, and DPA alongside the EPA and DHA, Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100 earns its premium slot with 1350 mg EPA, 600 mg DHA, 150 mg DPA and 90 servings per bottle. NOW Foods is the honest budget pick if you are comfortable taking four softgels a day, and MOM Nutrix is a starter bottle for a buyer who is not yet dose-shopping.

The one point that binds all of this: none of these is marketed as a diabetic product. Your clinician is the arbiter, not the label.

## FAQ

### Is high EPA omega 3 worth it for diabetics?

Is high EPA omega 3 worth it for a diabetic buyer? That is a clinical question, and the listings in this roundup do not answer it. Omega-3 fish oil interacts with blood glucose control, blood pressure medication, and anticoagulants, so the honest answer is that the picks here belong in a conversation with your care team before they belong in your cart.

### Which pick has the most EPA per serving?

Which pick has the most EPA per serving is a question the labels answer directly for three of the five. Oceanblue Professional Omega-3 2100 publishes the highest figure at 1350 mg EPA per serving, followed by MAV Nutrition at 1300 mg EPA. NOW Foods lists 180 mg EPA per softgel, which reaches 720 mg at the suggested four-softgel daily dose.

### Nordic Naturals or MAV Nutrition: which one for a higher EPA target?

Nordic Naturals or MAV Nutrition depends on whether you want dose transparency or the highest EPA figure. Nordic Naturals lists 1280 mg of total omega-3 per serving in triglyceride form and is the most-shopped bottle here. MAV Nutrition names 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA per serving, which is the higher headline number for an EPA-focused target.

### How many softgels a day are on the label?

How many softgels a day depends on the pick. Nordic Naturals suggests two softgels for its 1280 mg omega-3 serving. MAV Nutrition and Oceanblue each use two-softgel servings for their published EPA figures. NOW Foods suggests two softgels twice daily, four in total, to deliver its cardiovascular support dose across smaller-strength softgels.

### What should I avoid on an omega-3 label?

What should I avoid on an omega-3 label starts with confusing total fish oil weight for EPA content. A 3600 mg fish oil claim is not a 3600 mg EPA claim. Skip listings that do not publish EPA and DHA separately unless you are buying on other criteria, and treat vague purity language without a certification as marketing rather than evidence.

Fish oil is a category where the labels do most of the talking and the differences that decide the purchase are quiet. Look up the EPA figure, divide the bottle count by the daily dose, and take that shortlist to a clinician before you commit. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega is the default because it balances a documented triglyceride-form serving, the strongest traction of any pick here, and a price position that is not premium. If your clinician steers you to a higher EPA number or a longer refill cycle, MAV Nutrition and Oceanblue are the two picks that match, and NOW Foods is the honest budget path if you accept a four-softgel daily routine.

*Last updated: September 17, 2026\. Product availability re-checked.*

*This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.*