> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://tispan.org/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Best Omega 3 for Eye Health by EPA and DHA
- URL: https://tispan.org/best-omega-3-eye-health/
- Published: 2026-09-07T07:30:54.000Z
- Updated: 2026-09-07T09:49:26.000Z
- Description: Six omega-3 supplements compared on EPA, DHA and daily serving count, with a named winner and the exact conditions that flip the pick to a dry-eye formula.
- Author: Chris Williamson
- Tags: Omega Oils, Supplements, Eye Health

The best omega 3 for eye health is MAV NUTRITION Triple Strength Omega 3, because it publishes the highest split of active fats in this set: 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA per serving. If your real problem is dry, gritty eyes rather than general nutrition, ScienceBased Health HydroEye is the better buy, since it adds GLA that fish oil alone doesn't carry. Most of these picks land in one of two camps, and the labels blur the line.

In this guide
1. [How I screened these six down](#how-i-screened-these-six-down)
2. [Best omega 3 for eye health at a glance](#best-omega-3-for-eye-health-at-a-glance)
3. [EPA, DHA or GLA: which number decides it?](#epa-dha-or-gla-which-number-decides-it)
4. [1\. MAV NUTRITION Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil 3600 mg — Best overall](#1-mav-nutrition-triple-strength-omega-3-fish-oil-3600-mg-%E2%80%94-best-overall)
5. [2\. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega — Best for pros](#2-nordic-naturals-ultimate-omega-%E2%80%94-best-for-pros)
6. [3\. TheraTears Omega 3 Supplement for Eye Care — Best budget pick](#3-theratears-omega-3-supplement-for-eye-care-%E2%80%94-best-budget-pick)
7. [4\. NATURE'S BRANCH Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil for Heart — Best large-capacity](#4-natures-branch-triple-strength-omega-3-fish-oil-for-heart-%E2%80%94-best-large-capacity)
8. [5\. ScienceBased Health HydroEye Dry Eye Supplement — Best minimal setup](#5-sciencebased-health-hydroeye-dry-eye-supplement-%E2%80%94-best-minimal-setup)
9. [6\. PRN Physician Recommended Nutriceuticals De3 — Best premium](#6-prn-physician-recommended-nutriceuticals-de3-%E2%80%94-best-premium)
10. [Does omega-3 actually help your eyes?](#does-omega-3-actually-help-your-eyes)
11. [How many softgels a day, and how long a bottle lasts](#how-many-softgels-a-day-and-how-long-a-bottle-lasts)
12. [What the listings do not tell you](#what-the-listings-do-not-tell-you)
13. [The verdict](#the-verdict)
14. [FAQ](#faq)

## How I screened these six down

I lined up the published specifications side by side and read every label claim before ranking anything. That matters here, because "eye health" is doing a lot of work on these bottles. Amazon's search returned two very different product types under one search, and pretending they're the same would mislead you.

Here's the split. Three picks are general omega-3 fish oils that list eyes among several benefits: MAV NUTRITION, Nordic Naturals and NATURE'S BRANCH. Three are formulated specifically for the eye and dry-eye category: HydroEye, TheraTears and PRN De3.

What I screened on, in order:

1. **Published EPA and DHA per serving.** The two fats every listing agrees are active.
2. **Serving size and count.** How many softgels a day, and how long a bottle runs.
3. **Formulation focus.** Whether the blend targets tear film or general wellness.
4. **Set position.** Price rank and how often each one sells relative to the others here.

Nothing here was cut for being bad. All six are legitimate. The ranking reflects how well each matches the search you typed, not a lab result I don't have.

## Best omega 3 for eye health at a glance

| Pick                                                                                                         | EPA + DHA per serving        | Softgels/day    | Price                                                             |
| ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------------------------- | --------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Best overall**[MAV NUTRITION Triple Strength](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20)          | 1300mg EPA + 860mg DHA       | Not stated      | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best for pros**[Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20)        | 1280mg omega-3 total (claim) | 2 (45 servings) | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best budget pick**[TheraTears Omega 3](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08V47CF3F?tag=tispan-20)                 | 450mg EPA + 300mg DHA        | Not stated      | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08V47CF3F?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best large-capacity**[NATURE'S BRANCH Triple Strength](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MXZ3YD4?tag=tispan-20) | Not itemized                 | Not stated      | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MXZ3YD4?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best minimal setup**[ScienceBased Health HydroEye](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003UNOY7Y?tag=tispan-20)     | GLA + omega-3 blend          | 4               | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003UNOY7Y?tag=tispan-20) |
| **Best premium**[PRN De3](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081VPBXR5?tag=tispan-20)                                | 3:1 EPA:DHA (claim)          | 3               | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081VPBXR5?tag=tispan-20) |

## EPA, DHA or GLA: which number decides it?

Most guides to the best omega 3 for eye health push you toward total milligrams on the front label. That number misleads you. "3600 mg fish oil" and "2100 mg omega-3" describe the oil, not the two fats that do the work.

The number that decides it is EPA plus DHA per serving. Those are the two fatty acids every listing here treats as active. MAV NUTRITION states 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA. TheraTears states 450 mg EPA and 300 mg DHA. That is a real, checkable gap between two labels, not a marketing tier.

There's a third acid worth knowing. GLA is gamma-linolenic acid, and it isn't found in fish oil at all. HydroEye's listing says its GLA comes from black currant seed oil. Here's the useful bit:

- **EPA and DHA** — the omega-3 pair fish oil delivers; the general focus of most picks here.
- **ALA** — a plant omega-3; TheraTears lists 450 mg from flaxseed oil, which your body converts inefficiently.
- **GLA** — an omega-6 the dry-eye formulas add; not in fish oil or flaxseed.

So the deciding question isn't "how much omega-3." It's "which acids, and for what." A tear-film blend and a heart-and-brain concentrate can carry the same headline milligrams and do different jobs.

## 1\. MAV NUTRITION Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil 3600 mg — Best overall

**MAV NUTRITION wins because it publishes the highest EPA and DHA split of any pick here, in a single concentrated serving.**

[![MAV NUTRITION Triple Strength omega-3 softgel bottle showing the 1300mg EPA figure — proves the highest active-fat dose in this set](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51gECZGEDzL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** someone who wants the highest published EPA and DHA per serving **Skip it if:** your main goal is soothing dry, gritty eyes

What separates this pick is the numbers on the label. Each serving states 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA, the strongest itemized dose in this group. That is what "triple strength" actually means here, and it's why this bottle earns the top spot over the dry-eye formulas that list smaller fish-oil doses.

The bottle holds 120 softgels and weighs just 2 oz, the lightest of the six. MAV says the softgels are citrus-flavored and burpless, and that the oil is sourced from Friend of the Sea certified fisheries. The brand also describes molecular distillation for purity. Treat those as label claims, not proof.

It sells faster than any pick here except Nordic Naturals, which tells you buyers reach for it. The trade-off is focus. This is a general omega-3 built for eyes, brain and heart together, not a tear-film formula. If dryness is your specific complaint, a GLA blend targets that more directly. The label doesn't state a daily serving size, so check the bottle.

**Pros:**

- Highest published dose: 1300mg EPA + 860mg DHA
- Lightest bottle here at 2 oz
- 120 softgels per bottle
- Sells faster than all but one pick
- Burpless citrus softgels, per the label

**Cons:**

- General formula, not tear-film specific
- Daily serving size not stated on the listing
- Only two sellers list it
- No published warranty or release date

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NBTJFJB?tag=tispan-20)

## 2\. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega — Best for pros

**Nordic Naturals earns its spot because it pairs a documented daily dose with the clearest serving instructions in the set.**

[![Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega lemon-flavor bottle stating 45 servings — proves a defined two-softgel daily routine](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41g58vrlGWL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** anyone who wants a single well-documented daily dose **Skip it if:** you need a large count to stretch a bottle

This is the one buyers choose most often in this group, and the specifications explain why. The bottle holds 90 softgels rated at 45 servings, so the daily dose is two softgels. The listing states 1280 mg of omega-3 per serving in lemon flavor. That clarity is rare here.

Nordic Naturals says its concentrates use the triglyceride molecular form, which the listing claims aids absorption. The brand also cites wild-caught fish and its own purity standards. Those are manufacturer claims, though the company documents them more thoroughly than most.

For eyes specifically, the listing groups eye function alongside heart and brain, so it's a general omega-3 rather than a dry-eye tool. That's the honest limit. At 90 count it runs out faster than the 180-count picks, and it doesn't itemize EPA and DHA separately the way MAV NUTRITION does, so you're trusting a combined figure. If you want a defined, well-labeled daily habit and don't mind restocking sooner, this is the smoothest pick to live with.

**Pros:**

- Clear dose: 2 softgels, 45 servings per bottle
- 1280mg omega-3 per serving, per the label
- Sells faster than any pick here
- Triglyceride form claimed for absorption
- Lemon flavor to cut fishy taste

**Cons:**

- Only 90 softgels, runs out sooner
- EPA and DHA not itemized separately
- Eye benefit is general, not tear-specific
- Only two sellers list it

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0739KKHWL?tag=tispan-20)

## 3\. TheraTears Omega 3 Supplement for Eye Care — Best budget pick

**TheraTears is the value play because it's the cheapest here yet packs 180 softgels aimed squarely at eye care.**

[![TheraTears Omega 3 180-count bottle labeled for eye care — proves the largest budget-tier softgel count in this set](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41oYIBcBJwL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08V47CF3F?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** a first-timer stretching one bottle over months **Skip it if:** you want the highest EPA and DHA numbers

This is the cheapest pick of the six and still the joint-largest at 180 softgels. That combination is the whole case. The listing weighs 0.64 lb and states 1200 mg omega-3 per serving, broken out as 450 mg EPA, 300 mg DHA and 450 mg ALA from organic flaxseed oil, plus vitamin E.

TheraTears describes itself as an ophthalmologist-created brand and says the blend has been clinically tested. Those are label claims. What's genuinely useful is the design intent: this is built for eyes, released in 2021, unlike the general fish oils in the group.

The trade-off is dose. Its 450 mg EPA and 300 mg DHA sit well below MAV NUTRITION's 1300 and 860\. Part of its total leans on ALA, the plant omega-3 your body converts poorly. So you're paying less and getting a smaller active fish-oil dose, softened by a large count and an eye-first formula. For someone testing whether omega-3 helps their eyes before committing, that's a sensible way in. Just don't expect the highest active numbers here.

**Pros:**

- Cheapest pick in this set
- 180 softgels, joint-largest count
- Eye-first formula, released 2021
- EPA, DHA and ALA all itemized
- Includes flaxseed oil and vitamin E

**Cons:**

- EPA and DHA well below the top picks
- Part of the total is poorly-converted ALA
- Slower seller than the general fish oils
- Daily serving size not stated

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08V47CF3F?tag=tispan-20)

## 4\. NATURE'S BRANCH Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil for Heart — Best large-capacity

**NATURE'S BRANCH is the stock-up choice: 180 softgels at an entry price, built as a triple-strength general omega-3.**

[![NATURE'S BRANCH Triple Strength omega-3 bottle noting a three-month supply — proves the largest-value bulk position in this set](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51mCunIOgNL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MXZ3YD4?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** a household buying three months at once **Skip it if:** you want a serving built specifically for tear film

The pitch here is quantity for the money. This bottle holds 180 softgels, weighs 0.75 lb (the heaviest here), and sits at the second-cheapest position. The listing calls it a three-month supply, which is the reason to consider it over the smaller picks.

NATURE'S BRANCH markets it for heart, brain, eyes, joints and skin, with a burpless lemon flavor and molecular distillation for heavy metals. The listing says it's bottled in the USA in a cGMP-certified facility and third-party tested. Treat all of that as the manufacturer's claims.

Here's the honest weakness: the listing doesn't itemize EPA and DHA per serving. You get "triple strength" and a benefit list, but not the two numbers that actually decide this category. Against MAV NUTRITION's specific 1300 and 860, that's a real information gap. It's also the slowest seller of the six. So this is the pick when your priority is a big, cheap, general bottle and you're willing to accept less label detail. If you want tear-film focus or itemized doses, look elsewhere in this list.

**Pros:**

- 180 softgels, joint-largest count
- Second-cheapest pick here
- Listed as a three-month supply
- Burpless lemon flavor claimed
- Third-party tested, per the label

**Cons:**

- EPA and DHA not itemized on the listing
- Slowest seller of the six
- General formula, not tear-specific
- Heaviest bottle at 0.75 lb

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MXZ3YD4?tag=tispan-20)

## 5\. ScienceBased Health HydroEye Dry Eye Supplement — Best minimal setup

**HydroEye is the pick when dryness is the problem, because it adds GLA that no fish oil here carries.**

[![ScienceBased Health HydroEye dry eye supplement 120-softgel box — proves a GLA-plus-omega blend aimed at tear film](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/31N5KQCzcJL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003UNOY7Y?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** someone chasing a GLA-plus-omega dry-eye blend **Skip it if:** you dislike a four-softgel daily routine

This is the most targeted formula in the group, and it's the reason the search is worth doing carefully. HydroEye pairs omega-3 EPA and DHA with GLA from black currant seed oil. The listing states GLA is not found in fish or flaxseed oils, which sets it apart from every other pick here.

ScienceBased Health says the blend was shown to support a healthy ocular surface in a peer-reviewed clinical trial published in Cornea, and that it's recommended by eye care professionals. Those are the brand's claims. The bottle holds 120 softgels and was released in 2014, the oldest formula in the set.

The routine is the catch. The listing says to take four softgels daily and allow 30 to 60 days for full benefit. Four a day burns through 120 softgels in a month, so this is a higher-consumption commitment than the two-a-day picks. It also sits near the top on price. The trade-off is clear: you're paying more and taking more softgels for a formulation that targets the tear film directly instead of general wellness. For dry, gritty eyes, that focus is the point.

**Pros:**

- Adds GLA no other pick here carries
- Targets all three tear-film layers, per the label
- Cites a peer-reviewed Cornea trial
- 120 softgels per bottle
- Recommended by eye care professionals, per the listing

**Cons:**

- Four softgels a day depletes it fast
- Near the top on price
- Oldest formula, released 2014
- Slower seller than the general fish oils

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003UNOY7Y?tag=tispan-20)

## 6\. PRN Physician Recommended Nutriceuticals De3 — Best premium

**PRN De3 is the fixed-ratio option, built around a stated 3:1 EPA-to-DHA blend with added vitamin D3.**

[![PRN De3 yellow omega-3 softgel bottle stating a 30-day supply — proves a fixed 3:1 ratio formula for occasional dryness](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/31T-wJPZHiL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081VPBXR5?tag=tispan-20)

**Best for:** someone who wants a fixed EPA-to-DHA ratio with added D3 **Skip it if:** you want the most softgels per bottle

De3 is the most expensive pick here, and its case rests on formulation detail rather than count. The bottle holds 90 softgels described as a 30-day supply, so the routine is three softgels daily with a meal. The listing states a patented 3:1 EPA-to-DHA ratio and re-esterified triglyceride omega-3s, plus vitamin D3.

PRN says the blend is intended for occasional eye dryness and tear production, uses purified rTG omega-3s, and is NSF Contents Certified. The brand ties itself to EyePromise and says more than 8,500 eye care professionals recommend its products. Those are the manufacturer's claims.

The weakness is straightforward. At 90 softgels for a 30-day supply, it's the shortest-running eye formula here, and it's the priciest pick with the slowest sales of the six. You're paying premium money for a defined ratio and added D3, not for volume. Against HydroEye it drops the GLA; against MAV NUTRITION it drops the itemized high dose. So this is the pick when the specific 3:1 ratio and the D3 addition matter to you more than count or headline milligrams. Otherwise the value sits elsewhere in this list.

**Pros:**

- Fixed 3:1 EPA-to-DHA ratio, per the label
- Adds vitamin D3
- rTG omega-3 form claimed
- NSF Contents Certified, per the listing
- Clear three-softgel daily routine

**Cons:**

- Most expensive pick here
- Only 90 softgels, a 30-day supply
- Slowest seller among the eye formulas
- EPA and DHA milligrams not itemized

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081VPBXR5?tag=tispan-20)

## Does omega-3 actually help your eyes?

Here's the honest position: the search modifier is only partly supported by this data, so I won't promise any bottle fixes your eyes. What the listings do is state ingredients and, in some cases, cite their own studies. That's not the same as a guarantee.

Three of these picks are general fish oils that list eyes among several benefits. Three are formulated specifically for the eye category. If your interest is broad wellness, the general omegas make sense. If your complaint is dryness, the eye-specific blends are built for it.

- **General wellness goal** — MAV NUTRITION, Nordic Naturals or NATURE'S BRANCH.
- **Dry, gritty eyes** — HydroEye, TheraTears or PRN De3.
- **Testing the waters cheaply** — TheraTears, the cheapest here.

The best omega 3 for eye health is the one whose ingredients match your actual reason for buying. Judge the tear-film claims for yourself against the listing, and talk to a professional if dryness persists. No supplement here is a treatment.

## How many softgels a day, and how long a bottle lasts

Serving size changes the math more than count does, and the listings don't all agree. Read this before you compare bottle sizes.

The dry-eye formulas ask for more softgels. HydroEye's listing says four a day, so its 120 softgels run about a month. PRN De3 says three a day, and its 90 softgels are labeled a 30-day supply. Nordic Naturals is two a day, giving 45 servings from 90 softgels.

That reshapes the "big bottle" story. TheraTears and NATURE'S BRANCH both hold 180 softgels, and NATURE'S BRANCH is labeled a three-month supply. But MAV NUTRITION and TheraTears don't state a daily serving on their listings, so you'll need to check the bottle to know how long they last.

Rough runtime from the stated figures:

- **HydroEye:** 120 softgels at 4/day, about 30 days.
- **PRN De3:** 90 softgels, labeled 30 days.
- **Nordic Naturals:** 90 softgels at 2/day, about 45 days.
- **NATURE'S BRANCH:** 180 softgels, labeled roughly three months.

Count alone tells you nothing until you know the daily dose.

## What the listings do not tell you

A few gaps are worth naming so you're not surprised. None of these bottles carries a stated warranty, which is normal for supplements but worth knowing. Two picks list a release year: HydroEye in 2014, TheraTears in 2021\. The rest don't.

Two listings, NATURE'S BRANCH and PRN De3, don't itemize EPA and DHA per serving, so you're comparing a benefit list against firm numbers elsewhere. Every product here is stocked by only two sellers, so choice is limited whichever you pick.

Things to confirm on the physical label:

- Exact daily serving for MAV NUTRITION and TheraTears
- Whether the flavor suits you, since several claim citrus or lemon
- The full ingredient list beyond the headline fats

The specifications get you most of the way. The bottle closes the gap.

## The verdict

MAV NUTRITION Triple Strength is the best omega 3 for eye health for most buyers, because it publishes the strongest active dose in this set: 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA per serving, in a light 120-softgel bottle that sells fast. When your goal is general omega-3 nutrition with eyes included, nothing here beats those itemized numbers.

Two conditions flip that pick. First, if your real problem is dry, gritty eyes, ScienceBased Health HydroEye is the better buy. Its exact advantage is GLA from black currant seed oil, an ingredient the listing says fish and flaxseed oils don't carry, aimed at the tear film. Second, if you're stretching one bottle over months on a tight budget, TheraTears is the cheapest pick and holds 180 softgels in an eye-first formula.

Nordic Naturals is the smoothest to live with thanks to its clear two-softgel, 45-serving dose, but at 90 count it empties faster. PRN De3 offers a fixed 3:1 ratio with D3 at the highest price. NATURE'S BRANCH gives you the most volume cheaply, but hides its EPA and DHA figures. Match the ingredients to your reason for buying, and the pick becomes obvious.

## FAQ

### Which omega 3 for eye health gives the best value?

Best value for eye health here goes to TheraTears, the cheapest pick, holding 180 softgels in an eye-first formula that itemizes 450 mg EPA, 300 mg DHA and 450 mg ALA. NATURE'S BRANCH is close, also 180 softgels at the second-cheapest position and labeled a three-month supply, though it doesn't break out its EPA and DHA figures.

### Is a premium eye omega like PRN De3 worth it?

Whether a premium eye omega is worth it depends on what you value. PRN De3 is the most expensive pick and holds just 90 softgels, a 30-day supply at three daily. You're paying for a stated 3:1 EPA-to-DHA ratio, re-esterified omega-3s and added vitamin D3\. If a fixed ratio and D3 matter to you more than count, it earns the price. Otherwise, cheaper picks stretch further.

### How much EPA and DHA does the top pick contain?

The top pick, MAV NUTRITION, contains a stated 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA per serving, the highest itemized dose in this set. For comparison, TheraTears lists 450 mg EPA and 300 mg DHA. Two picks, NATURE'S BRANCH and PRN De3, don't itemize these figures on their listings, so you're trusting a ratio or a benefit list rather than firm numbers.

### MAV NUTRITION or HydroEye for dry eyes?

For dry eyes specifically, HydroEye beats MAV NUTRITION on formulation. HydroEye adds GLA from black currant seed oil, which its listing says fish and flaxseed oils lack, and targets the tear film directly. MAV NUTRITION delivers a stronger fish-oil dose but is a general formula. Choose MAV NUTRITION for overall omega-3 nutrition, HydroEye when gritty, dry eyes are your actual complaint.

### What mistake do buyers make choosing eye omega-3?

The mistake buyers make is comparing total oil milligrams on the front label instead of EPA and DHA per serving. "3600 mg fish oil" describes the oil, not the two active fats. A big number can hide a small active dose. Check the itemized EPA and DHA, and know that ALA from flaxseed converts poorly in the body.

Start by deciding your reason: general wellness or dry eyes. That single choice sorts these six into two clean groups and saves you from overpaying for the wrong formula. For most people buying the best omega 3 for eye health, MAV NUTRITION's 1300 mg EPA and 860 mg DHA make it the strongest default, since a high, itemized active dose serves eyes, brain and heart at once. If dryness is the reason you searched, put HydroEye's GLA blend at the top of your list instead, and give any formula the 30 to 60 days its label suggests before judging it.

*Last updated: October 5, 2026\. Product availability re-checked.*

*This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.*