Best Third Party Tested Halal Omega 3 for Purity

Only two of these six carry a halal certification, and only one pairs it with a third-party purity claim. Here is how the omega 3 field actually splits, and which pick fits which shopper.

Share

The best third party tested halal omega 3 is Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil, the only pick here that pairs an ISNA halal certification with 800 mg EPA and 400 mg DHA per serving. If your household burns through fish oil, Nature's Branch Triple Strength runs 180 softgels a bottle, half again more than Noor's 120. Two things matter most before you read on. Only two of these six state a halal certification. Only one of those two also states independent purity testing.

Best third party tested halal omega 3 at a glance

Pick Omega 3 per serving Halal status Price
Best overall
Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil
1200 mg (800 EPA / 400 DHA) ISNA certified Check Price
Best for heavy use
NATURE'S BRANCH Triple Strength Omega 3
Not listed Not stated Check Price
Best budget pick
GREEN FIELD NUTRITIONS Halal Omega 3
600 mg per 2 (360 EPA / 240 DHA) Halal claim Check Price
Best compact
Triquetra Health SoActive® Omega 3
Not listed Not stated Check Price
Best for families
Freshfield Vegan Omega 3
DHA algal (no figure) Vegan, no fish Check Price
Most versatile
Researched Nutritionals Omega-3 Plus
1200 mg (720 EPA / 480 DHA) Not stated Check Price

Halal certified or just halal-friendly?

Here is the misconception that trips up most shoppers. People compare EPA figures and burpless claims, then buy on dose. That is not what decides this category when you searched for a halal product. The certification does.

Amazon's search returned six bottles. Only two of them state anything about halal status in their own listings. That gap matters, because a fish oil is not automatically halal just because it comes from fish. The capsule shell is usually the sticking point. Most softgels use bovine or porcine gelatin, and the source determines whether the product qualifies.

  • Noor Vitamins states its softgels use bovine halal capsules and are certified halal by ISNA.
  • Green Field Nutritions carries a halal claim in its product name and describes a gluten-free, additive-free formula.

The other four say nothing about halal certification at all. Nature's Branch, Triquetra SoActive, and Researched Nutritionals are conventional fish oils. Freshfield is a vegan algal oil, which many shoppers treat as halal-friendly by default, though the listing does not carry a halal certification either.

So treat the word "halal" in the search as a filter you apply yourself. Two picks make the claim. The rest are here on the strength of testing, dose or format, and you decide whether they fit your requirement.

How I sorted six omega 3 bottles into a ranking

I lined up the published specifications side by side and cut on three things, in order. Here is the disqualification logic before I tell you what survived.

  1. No stated purity or testing claim. Every bottle here clears this bar, so nobody was cut on it. Noor states independent third-party lab certification for purity. Nature's Branch, Green Field, Triquetra, Freshfield and Researched Nutritionals each state some form of heavy-metal testing or molecular distillation.
  2. No usable dose or count figure. Two bottles list EPA and DHA in milligrams. Two list them per two softgels. Two list neither, which drops their ranking because you cannot compare what you cannot see.
  3. Halal fit against your search. This decided the top of the ranking rather than the survival of any pick.

What survived is all six, ranked. I put Noor first because it is the only bottle that satisfies the search term outright: certified halal, third-party purity claim, and a stated 1200 mg omega 3 per serving. From there the order reflects dose clarity, count, and how squarely each pick fits a named shopper.

A note on what I could not judge. None of these listings publish a certificate of analysis in the data I had, so "third-party tested" is the manufacturer's word in every case. I report the claim and its wording. I do not assert the lab result.

1. Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil — Best overall

Noor is the only pick that hits all three targets at once: certified halal, a stated purity claim, and a strong 1200 mg omega 3 dose.

Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil bottle, 120 count — the only pick here certified halal by ISNA

Best for: shoppers who want a certified halal fish oil with a strong dose Skip it if: you avoid animal-derived capsules

What sets Noor apart in this set is that it answers the actual search. It is the most expensive of the six, and it earns that position on certification rather than dose alone. Noor says the softgels use bovine halal capsules and are certified halal by ISNA, which is the specific credential a halal shopper is looking for. Green Field carries a halal claim too, but only Noor names the certifying body.

The dose is competitive. Noor states 2000 mg of total fish oil per serving, delivering 800 mg EPA and 400 mg DHA, for 1200 mg of omega 3. That matches Researched Nutritionals for total omega 3 and beats every other pick with a published figure. The oil is sourced from wild Peruvian fish, and Noor says the formula is designed to prevent aftertaste and burps.

At 120 softgels, the listing describes a two-month supply, and the bottle weighs 6.35 oz. The trade-off against the field is price. It sells at the top of this group, and it is not the fastest mover here. You pay for the certification, not for extra dose.

Pros:

  • Only pick certified halal by a named body, ISNA
  • Strong 1200 mg omega 3 per serving (800 EPA / 400 DHA)
  • States independent third-party lab certification for purity
  • Non-GMO and gluten free per the listing

Cons:

  • The most expensive pick here
  • Bovine capsules rule it out for vegans
  • Not the fastest seller in this set

2. NATURE'S BRANCH Triple Strength Omega 3 Fish Oil for Heart — Best for heavy use

With 180 softgels a bottle, this is the pick for a household that goes through omega 3 faster than a 60- or 120-count can keep up.

Nature's Branch Triple Strength Omega 3 bottle, 180 count — the largest softgel count in this set

Best for: a household that goes through omega 3 fast Skip it if: you specifically need halal certification

The number that defines this bottle is the count. At 180 softgels, it holds half again more than Noor's 120 and three times Triquetra's 60. The listing describes a three-month supply for a single daily user, which stretches further across a couple sharing one bottle. It weighs 0.75 lb, the heaviest here, which fits the larger count.

Nature's Branch calls the formula triple strength and describes a burpless experience with a natural lemon flavor for sensitive stomachs. The brand says the oil is 100% wild caught, molecularly distilled, heavy-metal tested, and bottled in a cGMP-certified facility in the USA. That covers the third-party-tested half of your search well.

The gap is the halal half. This listing says nothing about halal status, so it does not satisfy the certification a strict shopper needs. It also does not publish a per-serving EPA and DHA figure, which makes the "triple strength" claim harder to check against Noor or Researched Nutritionals. You are buying on volume and testing here, not on a stated dose.

Pros:

  • Largest count in the set at 180 softgels
  • States molecular distillation and heavy-metal testing
  • Burpless lemon flavor per the listing
  • Bottled in a cGMP-certified USA facility

Cons:

  • No halal certification stated
  • No published EPA or DHA figure
  • Heaviest bottle here at 0.75 lb

3. GREEN FIELD NUTRITIONS 1000mg Halal Omega 3 Fish Oil — Best budget pick

This is the cheapest of the six and the second bottle to carry a halal claim, which makes it the natural entry point for a first-time halal buyer.

Green Field Nutritions Halal Omega 3 bottle, 120 softgels — the lowest-priced halal pick in this set

Best for: first-time buyers who want a certified halal option at the lowest price here Skip it if: you want a high EPA and DHA dose per softgel

Green Field is the budget answer to the same question Noor answers at the top. It carries a halal claim in its own name, and it lands as the cheapest pick in this group. For a shopper testing whether they even like taking fish oil, that is the sensible place to start.

The dose is where you feel the price. Green Field states 600 mg of omega 3 per two softgels, split as 360 mg EPA and 240 mg DHA. That is half Noor's per-serving omega 3, and it means you take two capsules to reach a dose Noor delivers with fewer. At 120 softgels, the listing frames it as a two-month supply on that two-a-day schedule. The bottle weighs 7.3 oz.

Green Field says the oil is molecularly distilled to remove heavy metals like mercury, with no artificial flavors, sweeteners, preservatives or sugar, made in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility. It names the halal claim but not a certifying body, where Noor names ISNA. The trade-off is clear: you save money and give up dose density and a named certifier.

Pros:

  • Cheapest pick in this set
  • Carries a halal claim
  • States molecular distillation to remove mercury
  • No artificial flavors, sweeteners or preservatives per listing

Cons:

  • Lowest omega 3 dose density here
  • Needs two softgels for a full serving
  • No certifying body named for the halal claim

4. Triquetra Health SoActive® Omega 3 EPA & DHA — Best compact

The smallest bottle here at 60 capsules, built around an absorption claim rather than a big number on the label.

Triquetra Health SoActive Omega 3 bottle, 60 capsules — the most compact bottle in this set

Best for: someone who wants a small bottle and a clean, tested formula Skip it if: you need a stated EPA and DHA figure before buying

Triquetra is the compact option. Its box measures 4.25 x 2.25 x 2.25 in, the smallest footprint in this group, and it holds 60 capsules. That suits a bathroom cabinet, a travel bag, or a first trial where you do not want to commit to a two- or three-month bottle.

The pitch is absorption rather than raw dose. Triquetra says SoActive delivers EPA and DHA in a specialized format designed for effective absorption, and stresses no rancid oils, no fish burps and no stomach discomfort. The brand describes the formula as GMO-free, soy-free and gluten-free, produced in an organic-certified facility under GMP standards, with all ingredients third-party tested and lab-verified. On the testing half of your search, it reads well.

Two gaps hold it here. The listing does not publish an EPA or DHA figure in milligrams, so you cannot line its dose up against Noor or Researched Nutritionals. And it says nothing about halal certification. If your priority is a small, clean, tested bottle and the halal question is one you can resolve yourself, it fits. If you want a certified halal dose you can read on the label, look higher up.

Pros:

  • Smallest bottle footprint in the set
  • States third-party tested, lab-verified ingredients
  • Made in an organic-certified GMP facility per listing
  • Absorption-focused formula, no rancid oils claimed

Cons:

  • No published EPA or DHA figure
  • No halal certification stated
  • Fewest capsules here at 60

5. Freshfield Vegan Omega 3 — Best for families

An algal-oil omega 3 with no fish at all, which makes it the one bottle a mixed vegan and vegetarian household can share.

Freshfield Vegan Omega 3 bottle, 120 count — the only plant-based algal option in this set

Best for: vegans, vegetarians and mixed households avoiding fish Skip it if: you want both EPA and DHA in one dose

Freshfield takes a different route to omega 3. Instead of fish, it uses microalgae, which Freshfield describes as the same source fish get their DHA from, minus the mercury. That makes it the only plant-based pick here, and the one that sidesteps the gelatin-capsule question entirely with a tapioca-shell softgel that the brand says is carrageenan free.

For a family, that versatility is the draw. One bottle works for a vegan, a vegetarian, and anyone who simply dislikes fishy supplements. Freshfield says one to two softgels daily gives a two- to four-month supply from the 120-count bottle, so it stretches across more than one person. It is a lemon-scented DHA supplement, and at 2.4 oz it is easily the lightest bottle in the group.

Two things to weigh. Freshfield is a DHA-focused algal oil, so if you specifically want a balanced EPA-and-DHA fish oil, this is not that. And while vegan algal oil is widely treated as halal-friendly, the listing does not carry a halal certification, so it is a judgment you make rather than a claim you can point to. It sits at the higher end of this group on price for a plant-based formula.

Pros:

  • Only plant-based algal oil in the set
  • No fish, so no mercury per the listing
  • Tapioca-shell softgel, carrageenan free
  • Lightest bottle here at 2.4 oz

Cons:

  • DHA-focused, no stated EPA
  • No halal certification on the listing
  • Higher price position for a vegan formula

6. Researched Nutritionals Omega-3 Plus — Most versatile

The highest published EPA-and-DHA split in this set, at an entry price, for shoppers who care about dose above certification.

Researched Nutritionals Omega-3 Plus bottle, 60 count — the highest stated EPA and DHA split in this set

Best for: shoppers chasing the highest published EPA and DHA per serving Skip it if: halal certification is non-negotiable

On raw numbers, this is the strongest fish oil here. Researched Nutritionals states 720 mg EPA and 480 mg DHA per serving, for 1200 mg of omega 3. That ties Noor for total omega 3 and edges it on the individual EPA and DHA figures, which is why it earns the versatile label: it fits a wide range of intake goals from one 60-count bottle.

It also lands at the value end of this group, second-cheapest overall, which is unusual for the highest-dose pick. The brand says every batch is tested for mercury and contaminants, and that the oil is molecularly distilled for purity and freshness. Dosing is two softgels daily with food. On the third-party-tested half of your search, the claim is there in the manufacturer's wording.

The reason it sits last is the halal question, not the quality. This listing says nothing about halal status. It is also the slowest seller of the six here. If you need certification, Noor or Green Field are your bottles. But if halal is a preference you can satisfy another way and dose is what you actually want, this pick delivers the most omega 3 per serving of anything in the group.

Pros:

  • Highest stated EPA and DHA split (720 / 480)
  • Ties for the most omega 3 per serving at 1200 mg
  • Second-cheapest pick here
  • States per-batch mercury and contaminant testing

Cons:

  • No halal certification stated
  • Slowest seller in this set
  • Smaller 60-count bottle

EPA and DHA: the numbers that actually decide it

Once you have filtered for halal, dose is the next decision, and only three of these bottles let you make it on numbers.

  • Noor: 800 mg EPA, 400 mg DHA per serving. 1200 mg omega 3 total.
  • Researched Nutritionals: 720 mg EPA, 480 mg DHA per serving. 1200 mg omega 3 total.
  • Green Field: 360 mg EPA, 240 mg DHA per two softgels. 600 mg omega 3.

The other three publish no milligram figures I can compare. Nature's Branch says triple strength but not a number. Triquetra sells on absorption format. Freshfield is DHA-only from algae with no stated figure. That does not make them weak, but it makes them uncheckable on dose, so I ranked their dose claims below the ones I could read.

Here is the practical read. Noor and Researched Nutritionals sit at the same 1200 mg total. Noor leans slightly more toward EPA; Researched Nutritionals leans slightly more toward DHA. Green Field gives you half that total, spread over two softgels. For a halal buyer, the real trade is Noor's certification against Researched Nutritionals' marginally higher DHA. If the certification matters, the dose difference is small enough to ignore.

How long does one bottle last?

Count and daily dose together decide how often you reorder, and the range here is wide.

  1. Nature's Branch, 180 count: described as a three-month supply at one daily.
  2. Noor, 120 count: described as a two-month supply.
  3. Green Field, 120 count: a two-month supply at two softgels a day.
  4. Freshfield, 120 count: described as a two- to four-month supply at one to two daily.
  5. Triquetra, 60 count: the smallest, best for a short trial.
  6. Researched Nutritionals, 60 count: two softgels daily, so roughly a month.

The lesson is that a bigger number on the label is not always more product per dose. Green Field's 120 count is a two-month supply because you take two a day. Noor's 120 count also runs two months but at a lower daily count. If you want the fewest reorders, Nature's Branch at 180 softgels wins on volume. If you want a small commitment first, Triquetra or Researched Nutritionals at 60 count is the low-risk way in.

Which pick fits which shopper?

Match the bottle to the person, not the other way round.

  • Strict halal shopper who wants a named certifier: Noor, certified by ISNA.
  • Halal shopper on a budget: Green Field, the cheapest halal claim here.
  • Vegan or mixed household avoiding fish: Freshfield algal oil.
  • High dose, halal optional: Researched Nutritionals at 720/480.
  • Runs out fast: Nature's Branch at 180 softgels.
  • Wants a small, tested trial bottle: Triquetra at 60 count.

The thread through all six is that testing claims are common but halal certification is rare. Five of the six make some testing or distillation claim. Only two speak to halal at all. So decide your hard requirement first, then optimize dose and count within what is left.

The verdict

If your requirement is a certified halal omega 3, Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil is the pick. It is the only bottle here certified by a named body, ISNA, and it backs that with a stated third-party purity claim and 1200 mg of omega 3 per serving. That combination is what your search asked for, and nothing else in this group delivers all three.

If halal is a preference rather than a strict rule, the cutoff is dose against price. Researched Nutritionals Omega-3 Plus states 720 mg EPA and 480 mg DHA, ties Noor for total omega 3, and sits at an entry price. Its exact advantage over Noor is the slightly higher DHA and the lower price position; its cost is that it makes no halal claim.

Below both, Green Field is the budget halal entry, and Freshfield is the vegan route for households avoiding fish entirely. For sheer longevity, Nature's Branch at 180 softgels reorders least often. Buy Noor when the certification is the point. Buy Researched Nutritionals when the milligrams are.

FAQ

Is a third party tested halal omega 3 worth paying more for?

A third party tested halal omega 3 is worth the premium if certification is a firm requirement for you. Noor sits at the top of this group on price and earns it with an ISNA certification and a stated purity claim, not with extra dose. If halal is only a preference, a lower-priced pick like Researched Nutritionals gives you the same 1200 mg omega 3.

Which omega 3 here is actually certified halal?

Which omega 3 here carries real halal backing comes down to two bottles. Noor Vitamins states its softgels use bovine halal capsules certified halal by ISNA, naming the certifying body. Green Field Nutritions carries a halal claim in its product name but does not name a certifier. The other four say nothing about halal status in their listings.

How much EPA and DHA should one serving give me?

How much EPA and DHA a serving gives varies widely across this set. Noor states 800 mg EPA and 400 mg DHA. Researched Nutritionals states 720 mg EPA and 480 mg DHA, tying it at 1200 mg total omega 3. Green Field gives 360 mg EPA and 240 mg DHA per two softgels. Three others publish no milligram figure to compare.

Noor or Researched Nutritionals for a higher dose?

Noor or Researched Nutritionals is close on dose. Both state 1200 mg total omega 3 per serving. Noor leans toward EPA at 800 mg; Researched Nutritionals leans toward DHA at 480 mg and sits at a lower price. Choose Noor for the ISNA halal certification. Choose Researched Nutritionals for slightly more DHA and the better price when halal is optional.

What is the biggest mistake buying halal omega 3?

The biggest mistake buying halal omega 3 is assuming any fish oil qualifies. The capsule shell usually decides it, since most softgels use animal gelatin. Only two picks here address halal at all, and only Noor names its certifier. Do not treat "third party tested" as the same thing as halal; they are separate claims, and few bottles carry both.

Start by deciding whether halal certification is a hard rule for you, because that single answer removes four of these six from your shortlist. If it is, Noor Vitamins Halal Fish Oil is the clean default: an ISNA certification, a stated purity claim, and a full 1200 mg of omega 3 in each serving, so you are not trading dose for the credential. If halal is flexible, the field opens up to dose and price, and Researched Nutritionals matches Noor's omega 3 for less. Either way, read the label for the milligram figures before you buy.

Last updated: October 4, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.